The station Q seminar (usually Tuesday 2:30pm in the CNSI) schedule can be found here: Q seminar
Materials seminars/colloquium are Fridays at 4pm, usually in ESB1001. The schedule is here: Materials seminar

Go to current week.⬇

Week 1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Sep 30-Fri, Oct 4



CONFERENCE
kickoff conference
Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 7
12:15pm
Aud


blackboard lunch seminar

2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting/
Open discussion
introduction of new participants;
agenda/expectation for the week;
discussion of open questions

3:15pm



coffee break
Tue, Oct 8
(week's topic)
11:00am
SSR
Sebastian Goennenwein
Charge and Spin Currents in Hybrid Structures
experimentalist of the week (1hr talk + 30min discussion)

4:00pm
Broida 1640
Alexei Kitaev
Topological Quantum Phases
not part of the program
Wed, Oct 9
11:00am
SSR
Yaroslav Tserkovnyak
Spin transport in metals and insulators
tutorial/perspective (1hr+30min)
Thu, Oct 10
(in-depth talks)
1:45pm
Aud
Tomas Jungwirth
Ferromagnetic and antiferromagnetic semiconductor spintronics
(30+15min)

2:30pm
Aud
Ke Xia
Computational spin caloritronics
(30+15min)

3:15pm



coffee break

6:00pm

All participants
Joint dinner outing
go to Social Activities
Fri, Oct 11
10:00am
SSR
All participants
Open discussion
week's progress/conclusions/questions
(spontaneous short presentations)

4pm
ESB1001
Stephen Wilson
Materials seminar: Exploring the role of electron-electron correlations in spin-orbit driven Mott phases (abstract)
not part of the program
Sat, Oct 12
10:00am

All participants
Excursion/hiking
go to Social Activities

Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 14
10:30am
Aud
Oleg Tchernyshyov
Dynamics of topological defects in ferromagnets
tutorial/perspective (1hr+30min)

12:15pm
Aud
Jim Jenkins
The physics of wind-blown sand and desert dunes
blackboard lunch seminar

2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting/
Open discussion
introduction of new participants;
agenda/expectation for the week;
discussion of open questions
Tue, Oct 15
(week's topic)
10:00am
SSR
Dan Ralph
Spintronics Research at Cornell (with some questions for you)
experimentalist of the week (1hr talk + 30min discussion)

4:00pm
Broida 1640
Megan Valentine
Microtubules: a model system for studying rigid rod polymer mechanics
not part of the program
Wed, Oct 16
3:30pm
beach

KITP BBQ

Thu, Oct 17
(in-depth talks)
1:45pm
Aud
Gen Tatara
Spin-motive force in the presence of spin-orbit interaction
(30+15min)

2:30pm
Aud
Shigeki Onoda
Transport theory for relativistic fermions
(30+15min)

6:30pm

All participants
Joint dinner outing
go to Social Activities
Fri, Oct 18
10:00am
SSR
All participants
Open discussion
week's progress/conclusions/questions
(spontaneous short presentations)
Sat, Oct 19
1:00pm

All participants
Excursion/hiking
go to Social Activities

Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 21
(blackboard/lunch)
12:15pm
Aud
Gerrit E. W. Bauer
Spin transfer - from freshman mechanics to killer application


2:00pm
SSR
All participants

Organizational meeting
Tue, Oct 22
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Takis Kontos
Spin and charge dynamics in nanotube circuits probed by transport and circuit QED techniques


4:00pm
Broida
1640
Lu Sham
All things quantum, large and small
not part of the program
Wed, Oct 23
(tutorial)
11:00am
SSR
Wolfgang Belzig
Spin(calori)tronics with Superconducting Heterostructures

Thu, Oct 24
(in-depth talks)
1:45pm
Aud
Hyun-Woo Lee
Interfacial spin-orbit coupling and chirality


2:30pm
Aud
Kyung-Jin Lee
Angular dependence of spin-orbit spin transfer torque


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Oct 25
10:00am
SSR
All participants

Open discussion
Sat, Oct 26
10:00am

All participants

Excursion/hiking

Week 5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 28
2:00pm
SSR
All participants

Organizational meeting
Tue, Oct 29
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Alina Deac
Real-time switching and spin-torque bias dependence/revisited

Wed, Oct 30
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Bert Koopmans
Femtosecond laser-induced spin-transfer torque

Thu, Oct 31
(in-depth talks)
1:15pm
Aud
Yaroslav Blanter
Superconductor-based nanomechanics


2:15pm
Aud
Mark Stiles
Spin Hall and Rashba effects in magnetic bilayers


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Nov 1
10:00am
SSR
All participants

Open discussion
Sat, Nov 2
10:00am

All participants

Excursion/hiking

Week 6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Nov 4
11:00am
Aud
Claudia Felser
Topological insulators
No organizational meeting this week
Tue, Nov 5
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Stuart Parkin
Chiral Spin Torque at Magnetic Domain Walls

Thu, Nov 7
(in-depth talks)
1:15pm
Aud
Catalina Marinescu
Thermoelectric anomaly in a 2D electron system with SOI?


2:15pm
Aud
Rembert Duine
Spin torques and skyrmions in magnetic systems with perpendicular magnetic anisotropy


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Nov 8
1:30pm
Aud
All participants

Open discussion
Sun, Nov 10
10:00am

All participants

Excursion/hiking

Week 7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tue, Nov 12
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Burkard Hillebrands
Smart magnon spintronics

Wed, Nov 13
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Eiji Saitoh
Field dependence of spin Seebeck effects

Thu, Nov 14
(in-depth talks)
1:15pm
Aud
Arne Brataas
Gilbert damping, heat flow, and spin-pumping


2:15pm
Aud
Shuichi Murakami
Berry curvature and topological modes for magnons


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Nov 15
10:00am
SSR
All participants

Open discussion
Sat, Nov 16
10:00am

All participants

Excursion/hiking

Week 8
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Nov 18
2:00pm
SSR
All participants

Organizational meeting
Tue, Nov 19
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
David Awschalom
Abandoning perfection: quantum control of defects for sensing and information processing

Wed, Nov 20
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Alexey Kimel
Femtosecond Magnetism: the role of the exchange interaction

Thu, Nov 21
(in-depth talks)
1:15pm
Aud
Mikhail Kiselev
Thermoelectric transport through Kondo nano-devices


2:15pm
Aud
Carlos Egues
Rashba vs Dresselhaus: a perfect match


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Nov 22
10:00am
SSR
All participants

Open discussion
Sat, Nov 23
10:00am

All participants

Excursion/hiking

Week 9
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Nov 25
2:00pm
SSR
All participants

Organizational meeting
Tue, Nov 26
(in-depth+pitch)
11:00am
SSR
Inanc Adagideli
Majorana fermions from disorder and superlattices

Wed, Nov 27
(in-depth+pitch)
11:00am
SSR
Vladimir Falko
Spin-lattice relaxation in 2D hexagonal crystals


Week 10
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Dec 2
2:00pm
SSR
All participants

Organizational meeting
Tue, Dec 3
(in-depth talks)
10:00am
SSR
Tim Ziman
Skew scattering and the spin Hall effect in a metallic ferromagnet near the Curie temperature


11:00am
SSR
Alexander Khaetskii
Unitarity of scattering and edge spin accumulation in ballistic and quasi-ballistic regimes

Wed, Dec 4
(experimental)
11:00am
Aud
Amir Yacoby
Pseudo Magnetism in Graphene

Thu, Dec 5
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Amir Yacoby
Induced superconductivity in the quantum spin Hall edge

(in-depth talks)
1:15pm
Aud
Karin Everschorsitte
Skyrmion dynamics


2:15pm
Aud
Kirill Belashchenko
Electric resistivity and spin injection in the presence of thermal spin disorder


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Dec 6
2:00pm
Aud
All participants

Open discussion
Sat, Dec 7
10:00am

All participants

Excursion/hiking

Week 11
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Dec 9
(blackboard/lunch)
12:15pm
Aud
Daniel Loss
Spintronics and Quantum Computing

Tue, Dec 10
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Andreas Heinrich
The quantum and classical description of atomic spins on surfaces

Wed, Dec 11
11:00am
SSR
Leonid Glazman
Topological superconducting phase in helical Shiba chains

Thu, Dec 12
(in-depth talks)
1:15pm
Aud
Roland Winkler
Spins and Pseudospins in Graphene


2:15pm
Aud
Dimi Culcer
Interactions in non-equilibrium topological insulators and graphene


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Dec 13
10:00am
Aud
All participants

Open discussion
Sat, Dec 14
10:00am

All participants

Excursion/hiking

Week 12
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Dec 16
2:00pm
SSR
Jelena Klinovaja
From Majorana Fermions to Parafermions


2:40pm
SSR
All participants

Organizational meeting
Tue, Dec 17
(experimental)
11:00am
SSR
Laurens Molenkamp
HgTe as a Topological Insulator

Wed, Dec 18
11:00am
SSR
Allan Macdonald
Spin-Supercurrents

Thu, Dec 19
(in-depth talks)
10:30am
SSR
Pascal Simon
New platforms for 1D topological superconductors: spin polarization and transport properties


11:30am
SSR
Ulrich Zuelicke
Anomalous spin susceptibility and suppressed exchange energy of 2D holes


6:30pm

All participants

Dinner outing
Fri, Dec 20
10:00am
SSR
All participants

Open discussion






*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room, FR=Founders' Room, PL=Porthole Lounge
⬆TOP